Jesus’ “Voice as the Sound of Many Waters”

“And his feet like unto fine brass, as if they burned in a furnace; and his voice as the sound of many waters.” (Revelations 1:15)

Nobody tells Jesus where he can or can’t go. He has victory over all things. His feet step where ever he wants. It is best to submit to him now because his feet burn like a furness, and God is putting everything under his feet.

“The LORD said unto my Lord, Sit thou on my right hand, till I make thine enemies thy footstool?” (Matt 24:44)

In Eph 1:20-23 we see that God has placed Jesus as the undesputed King over all things and placed all under his feet:

“Which he wrought in Christ, when he raised him from the dead, and set him at his own right hand in the heavenly places, Far above all principality, and power, and might, and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this world, but also in that which is to come: And hath put all things under his feet, and gave him to be the head over all things to the church, Which is his body, the fulness of him that filleth all in all.”

This description of Jesus described here (and in previous posts on Revelation 1:13-14 see: “Jesus is the Light of the Seven Candlesticks and Our High Priest” and “Nothing is Hid From the Eyes as a ‘Flame of Fire’“) is the same that the Prophet Daniel saw of Jesus in his vision:

“Then I lifted up mine eyes, and looked, and behold a certain man clothed in linen, whose loins were girded with fine gold of Uphaz: His body also was like the beryl, and his face as the appearance of lightning, and his eyes as lamps of fire, and his arms and his feet like in colour to polished brass, and the voice of his words like the voice of a multitude.” (Daniel 10:5-6)

People who speak the Word of God as true servants of Jesus Christ are also described in scripture as having “the voice of many waters”.

These are people whom Jesus can depend upon to use as his mouth piece to speak the truth about him and his Word.

  • “The voice of the LORD is upon the waters: the God of glory thundereth: the LORD is upon many waters. The voice of the LORD is powerful; the voice of the LORD is full of majesty” (Psalms 29:3-4)
  • “And, behold, the glory of the God of Israel came from the way of the east: and his voice was like a noise of many waters: and the earth shined with his glory.” (Ezekiel 43:2)
  • “And I heard a voice from heaven, as the voice of many waters, and as the voice of a great thunder: and I heard the voice of harpers harping with their harps:” (Revelations 14:2)
  • “And I heard as it were the voice of a great multitude, and as the voice of many waters, and as the voice of mighty thunderings, saying, Alleluia: for the Lord God omnipotent reigneth.” (Revelations 19:6)

This is the reason that Jesus described some of his Apostles as the “the sons of thunder” (see Mark 3:17)

Truly, the oneness of the church of God when worshiping, preaching, and glorifying Jesus Christ is: as the “voice of many waters”, as the “voice of mighty thunderings”, as the ‘voice of a great multitude”, as the “voice of the Lord… …full of majesty”!

12 responses to “Jesus’ “Voice as the Sound of Many Waters”

  1. Swallow falls at Bettws Y Coed in Snowdonia are spectacular as the mountain river cascades over the steep rocky river bed roaring majestically and misting up from the bottom of the valley floor, far below, and this leaves a sense of awe and power and reminds us that Gods creation is amazing and He is near us in all things

    • If you have ever been around “rushing” water, like that of a river in full force flowing over a water fall, it had your full attention. You felt the power, the loudness made it difficult to even talk, and you became wet from the huge mist that generated from them.

      The true voice and Spirit of God being present were there is a people that have been made pure and holy by Jesus Christ is the same. God’s presence amongst them cannot be ignored for it is seen, heard and felt like as if you were in the presence of mighty rushing waters. God speaks through his true and faithful people.

  2. About 2 years ago I had a dream that I saw this big bright light, brightest thing ever.. you can tell that there were eyes.. fire like eyes… and a mouth… the mouth opened and spoke. I heard a voice that sounded like many waters.. and he didnt sound old.. he sounded like as if he had the perfect age (i know, weird, but its hard to describe lol) and it was almost like surround sound.. and he said to me in Spanish, “do as I say”.. he said this phrase in a way that i had never used before, being that i am bilingual. At this time in my life I was a believer but I wasn’t completely surrendered. I said, “yes Lord.” And I waited to hear from him. At this moment I felt a slithering nauseating feeling in my stomach and I look down. In my belly button I saw a little black thing. I grabbed it and pulled it out and it was a snake. I took two out. I didnt even know i had them inside me.
    I thank God he was so gracious to me in helping me. I stuggled a lot with lust and fornication. Thank you Jesus for the finished work! The Lord is a deep and personal God. He knew about things inside of me that I didn’t even know I had. ♥ He is awesome.

  3. I have 2 testimonies, but the second testimony was very similar to your description. It occurred in the summer of 2008. I was backslidden, I hadn’t read the holy bible at that point thoroughly, and was so broken on many levels. I was very humble through the trials that I had experienced and had a good conscience though. Because of my 1st testimony, I always had faith in the Lord and God wholeheartedly, but I was suffering from the inside and definitely wasn’t living in the way that the Lord intended for me to live. A bit off of the subject, but very important to mention that I don’t see angels, spirits, or hear voices etc.. There was a man that wanted to date me that had a very bad reputation for promiscuity and I had a really bad feeling about it. I started to pray to Jesus! I asked by saying “Jesus, please reveal yourself to me, because the 1st testimony that I had happened so long ago and I need to confirm that you still truly exist so I would have my faith to stand on when I tell people about you. Please, please help me Lord.” The man that wanted to date me was in my room at that time and it was a quiet moment. My eyes were closed and I was praying quietly to the Lord. The next thing that happened was from within. It was a soul shaking experience! The Lords presence, giving it my best description was that the holy spirit came up to the surface from within me and touched my mind and heart in an extreme way, to right under my skin! I heard the sound of what sounded to me like ocean waves and at the exact same time I heard the word “No!” It was expressed in a very clear, concise and authoritative manner. Like a father talking to his daughter. There was a pause of complete silence and I started to hear trickling streams and rivers also and at the exact same time the words were “Don’t do it!” I was scared! At the same time I was praying with praise and thanks for the Lord showing me that he truly exists! After it happened, I put it on the back burner and thought about it every great once in a while, but never shared it until recently when about 5 days ago it occurred to me to do a search on Google. My exact search was Does Jesus’ voice sound like flowing water? Your website was up, along with the scripture Ezekiel 43:2 which sent chills up my spine knowing exactly that my purpose is to share the information with as many people that will listen. It was made fully aware that I have no time to waste and I started sharing the message. The only regret that I have about this particular testimony is that I only started witnessing to people very recently, so I wholeheartedly regret wasting 6 years without witnessing out of disobedience. The Lord has been patient with me on so many levels and I made a promise to Jesus to share my testimonies on both accounts. Jesus has blessed me so much on my road to finding the purpose and direction that I needed. Allowing me to have a wonderful husband, allowing us to have a beautiful child, and letting us travel all over Europe after joining the Army shortly after this testimony and being honorably discharged after completing my time and meeting my husband! Jesus is real, God is real and heaven truly does exist! I have been pointed to the scriptures in Luke chapter 12 about the rapture and to share that it will come soon and to repent for those that are reading this message for some understanding. I want to point as many souls as I can to read the holy bible so Jesus can use holy spirit to change all sinners lives so their souls will be saved. I’m so glad to have found this website! I’m glad also that I am not alone in this particular testimony. I wonder how many others have experienced this? God Bless and Praise Jesus!

    • Lisa, thank you for your testimony. I encourage you to continue to submit all your life to Jesus in obedience to his word and will. Seek him with your whole heart and he will never leave you nor forsake you! Lord bless…

  4. In praying to Jesus to reveal himself to me insert at the end of the prayer “Should I be with this guy or not?”
    Not a way to edit on this website.

  5. Thank you very much for the comment back and I am working on being more in my faith everyday. My goal is to point as many souls to Christ that will listen. God Bless.

  6. According to the voice of Jesus
    which commandment is the most important?

    Jesus was asked twice, by two different men, the same basic question about which is the most important or greatest commandment in the Law. Here is how Jesus answered that question:

    #1
    “One of the teachers of the law… asked him [Jesus],
    ‘Of all the commandments, which is the most important?’

    “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “ is this: ‘Hear, of Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than THESE.” [Mark 12:28-31, Deuteronomy 6:4-5, Leviticus 19:18]

    #2
    …an expert in the law, tested him [Jesus] with this question: ‘Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?’”

    Jesus replied: “’Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these TWO commandments.” [Matthew 22:36-40, Deuteronomy 6:5, Leviticus 19:18]

    But in contrast with Jesus, Paul the Pharisee didn’t know the greatest, most important, first commandment according to Jesus. Paul made up his own rule. Paul wrote:
    “The entire law is summed up in a SINGLE command: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’” [Galatians 5:14, Leviticus 19:18]

    And again, Paul wrote:
    “He who loves his fellowman has fulfilled the law. The commandments, “Do not commit adultery, Do not murder, Do not steal, Do not covet, and whatever other commandment there may be, are summed up in this ONE RULE: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ Love does no harm to its neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.” [Romans 13:8-10, Leviticus 19:18]

    Jesus said it’s TWO commandments, with the greatest, most important, first command to
    .1) first, love God with everything you’ve got, and
    .2) second, love people.
    Paul said no, it ONE commandment- to love people.

    This is very similar to The Beatles- “All you need is love. Love is all you need. Love, Love, Love.” (In other words, the second commandment, the love of man, without the love of God. Love as me, myself and I define love to be, and continuously redefined by sinful men.)

    In essence, it is also the same principle as what Eve did in the Garden of Eden, forgetting about the Tree of Life, which is the first tree in the middle of the Garden, and instead referring to the second tree as “the tree that is in the middle of the garden.” [Genesis 3:3 & 2:9 2:17, 3:24]

    Kind of like the Pharisees with Jesus, who were pushing the false idea that we can consider ONE commandment in the Law, alone in isolation, to be “the greatest commandment in the Law.”

    Or like today, false teachers in the Chrislam – Purpose Driven – Seeker Sensitive – Emergent – Liberal – Ecumenical – New Age – world church movement pushing the false idea that the ONE RULE is “Loving God and Neighbor together.”

    The Lord God Jesus the Jewish Messiah, Son of Yahweh the Most High God of Israel, said:
    “All the Law and the Prophets hang on these TWO commandments.”
    Not one. TWO.

    Sometimes, Paul was wrong. Jesus is always right. I’m following Jesus.

    Here are answers to 2 common objections:
    .a) What about the so-called “Golden Rule”?
    Jesus spoke the 3 chapters of the Sermon on the Mount, Matthew 5-7, including 7:12. Jesus didn’t make PART of this one verse out of context into “The Golden Rule” or “one rule.” Jesus did not use the term “Golden Rule,” it’s simply a tradition of men. The sentence begins with “So” in the NIV and Amplified Bibles, and “Therefore’ in the NASB and King James Bibles, which ties 7:12 to the previous sentences. So 7:12 cannot stand alone as One Commandment.

    .b) What about the so-called “Great Commission”?
    Jesus spoke the words recorded in Matthew 28:18-20, including “make disciples of all nations.” Jesus never used the term “Great Commission,” it’s simply a tradition of men. Yes I agree it’s a commandment given by Jesus, it’s not optional, and it applies to us today. We need to carry this out, with our own God-given abilities and talents, using the skills, and circumstances we have. But we don’t need to put words in the mouth of Jesus, we can let Jesus speak for himself, and we can listen to Him – and obey Him.

    Evangelism is part of the Second Commandment given by Jesus, to Love people. Evangelism is not the most important commandment, and it isn’t the entire Second Commandment. So if our priorities are “The Great Commission and the Great Commandment,” we have our priorities upside down and confused, and we are not listening to the voice of Jesus. Never mind what Paul said. Let’s listen to the voice of Jesus first, and get our priorities straight.

    The people who will protest most loudly against this truth are the modern “Pauls:” traveling evangelists, speakers, writers, abusive absentee mega-church pastors, Crusaders, and self-appointed “apostles” like Paul, who find it “profitable” to “be like Paul” rather than follow Jesus the Jewish Messiah.

  7. When I was 16 I was searching for God . I was laying In Bed and asked him where can u find you God . What church ? I was in deep thought trying to figure out where God was .
    Suddenly I heard crashing water like mixed with thunder so powerful I froze I couldn’t believe what I just heard. The words of the water was
    (((( I AM HE ))))

    • When Moses first asked God’s name, God told him “I am that I am.” He informed Moses that he is not just the subject of scripture, but that he is, and he is present. Your experience is reflective of the spiritual way God reveals himself, thru his people and his true ministry. When you find his true people, his true church, God will not just be a subject of scripture and teaching. You will recognize God’s presence among them by the holiness they naturally live, and the faithfulness of his love in their lives. You will know that “I am” is present. The sound of the waters “cloud of witnesses” (see Hebrews 11) will witness to your heart.
      “But if all prophesy, and there come in one that believeth not, or one unlearned, he is convinced of all, he is judged of all: And thus are the secrets of his heart made manifest; and so falling down on his face he will worship God, and report that God is in you of a truth.” ~ 1 Corinthians 14:24-25

Leave a Reply

