Are You Feasting On the Hidden Manna?

“He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the hidden manna, and will give him a white stone, and in the stone a new name written, which no man knoweth saving he that receiveth it.”

Again (as he does following each message) he states that if you have a spiritual ear to hear, you better listen and take heed! Those who overcome these spiritual conditions spoken of above, they will eat “hidden manna” and receive a “white stone” with “a new name written.” Manna is the food that fell from heaven when the Israelites were traveling in the Sinai Desert. They would go out daily to gather it and prepare it for food. Note: only the people of God received this manna, and this food was only provided to them directly in this manner while they were traveling through a desert wilderness condition that could not provide the food they needed to sustain life.

Bread - SlicedJesus is telling the true (over-comers) people of God that he will directly give them the spiritual food they need to sustain spiritual life because the spiritual condition around them is like a desert where there is no rain. When there spiritually is a condition where true worshipers are gathered together as one in fellowship and service to God, God’s presence amongst their gathering is described in a number of places as a cloud that provides rain to the true worshipers and judgment (thunder, lightening, and whirlwinds) upon the false. (See the following scriptures: Hebrews 12:1, Exodos 40:34-38, Luke 9:28-36, I Cor 10:1-2, Exodos 14:19-20 & 24, Ezekiel 1:4 & 28, Psalms 18:9-17, Exodos 19:9 & 16, I Kings 8:10-12, II Chronicles 5:13-14, and many, many more)

But when there is a mixture of true worshipers amongst a larger number false, fake worshipers, it produces a different effect:

“These are spots in your feasts of charity, when they feast with you, feeding themselves without fear: clouds they are without water, carried about of winds; trees whose fruit withereth, without fruit, twice dead, plucked up by the roots;” (Jude 12)

Consequently, you must receive your spiritual food directly from Jesus, because a clear standout body of worshipers does not exist that God will honor with his presence to provide you spiritual blessings and food.

In John 6:32-51 Jesus told us that he is that manna that God gave directly from heaven. To the Jews that would not receive him, this manna was hidden to them. Consequently, here he calls it the “hidden manna” because even though the true people of God would be receiving it, it would be hidden from the false worshipers amongst them.

It is also a hidden manna because those fake Christians were feasting on “things sacrificed unto idols.” As mentioned in an earlier post “Doctrine of Balaam – Placing Stumbling Blocks in the Way” They were feasting on false doctrines designed to benefit those who had created the idols. Idols are created by man, and the worship of idols typically benefits those who made them (just like in Acts where the idol makers in Ephesus benefited from their trade of making idols, and wanted to get rid of Paul who was showing the people the way out of idolatry – see Acts 19:23-41.) Now Jesus at one point told his disciples that “I have meat to eat that you know not of” (see John 4:32-35). The Apostles did not understand what Jesus meant. So Jesus went on to tell them that “my meat is to do the will of my Father, and to complete his work.” This is the hidden manna that Jesus is promising those in Pergamos who will be true to him!

During the Pergamos Age (the Roman Catholic age) it was a time of no rain; a desert condition. The two anointed ones in the earth (God’s Word and His Holy Spirit) teach us that their will be “no rain” when false worshipers and false doctrine have been mixed in with true worshipers and Gospel truths. (see Rev 11:1-6) Consequently, the two anointed ones directly feed the “hidden manna” to the true worshipers, the true Bride of Christ, the true church of God:

“And the woman (the true church of God) fled into the wilderness (a desert place of no rain), where she hath a place prepared of God, that they (the two annointed ones) should feed her there a thousand two hundred and threescore days.” (see Rev 12:6)

14 responses to “Are You Feasting On the Hidden Manna?

  1. I read your comment on ‘Hidden Manna” and came away a little confused. all the comments in Rev 2 about overcomers are clearly focusing on after the rapture, in the New Jerusalem, not during the church age. To say that Jesus is the manna that is hidden from the unbelievers on this earth is a bit misleading. Or did I misread your conmments?

  2. John, I can only speak of things found in the Word of God. The term “rapture” is not in the Bible, but is a term men have invented to describe a belief that they have “pulled” together by taking a few scriptures out of their original context, and then added many other ideas complete their teaching.

    Jesus himself showed (while he was on earth amongst many religious people) that he being the “Son of God” was hidden from them – and he showed this while talking about being the “manna from heaven”. That is why this post refers to that scripture in John 6:31-51 (parts of which I have quoted here):

    “Our fathers did eat manna in the desert; as it is written, He gave them bread from heaven to eat. Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Moses gave you not that bread from heaven; but my Father giveth you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is he which cometh down from heaven, and giveth life unto the world. Then said they unto him, Lord, evermore give us this bread. And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst. But I said unto you, That ye also have seen me, and believe not…

    …The Jews then murmured at him, because he said, I am the bread which came down from heaven. And they said, Is not this Jesus, the son of Joseph, whose father and mother we know? how is it then that he saith, I came down from heaven?…

    …I am that bread of life. Your fathers did eat manna in the wilderness, and are dead. This is the bread which cometh down from heaven, that a man may eat thereof, and not die. I am the living bread which came down from heaven: if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world. The Jews therefore strove among themselves, saying, How can this man give us his flesh to eat?”

    Yes, Jesus is that “hidden manna”! And still many people are reading the Word of God, but they are not feasting on the hidden manna, because the real life of holy living (the life that Jesus lived) is still absent from their lives. Yes, for most so called “Christians” today, Jesus is still the “hidden manna” just as he was for the Scribes and Pharisees.

  3. Richard,
    I don’t have any problem with Jesus being the “hidden Manna”, but I’m not convinced as you are that the scriptures about the rapture are taken out of context. I have read and read and read – more learned scholars than I and am convinced of the pre-tribulation rapture. Please tell me where I am missing it according to your thoughts.

    • John,

      There is no pre-trib rapture. As a matter of fact you can search the scriptures from Genesis to Revelation and you will not find the word “Rapture”

      The answer is immediately after the tribulation. The answer is found in Matthew24:29-31 KJV

      29Immediately after the tribulation of those days shall the sun be darkened, and the moon shall not give her light, and the stars shall fall from heaven, and the powers of the heavens shall be shaken: 30And then shall appear the sign of the Son of man in heaven: and then shall all the tribes of the earth mourn, and they shall see the Son of man coming in the clouds of heaven with power and great glory. 31And he shall send his angels with a great sound of a trumpet, and they shall gather together his elect from the four winds, from one end of heaven to the other.

      Note: The gathering together of the saints is the “Resurrection”

  4. John,

    Thank you for questions. They are important to me to engage these type of questions because so many have similar questions and need answers.

    There is a longer answer to this I would like to give, but I don’t have the time I would like to devote to it at this time. For now I will say that most of these “rapture” and “millennial” doctrines are derived from a literal interpretation of the scriptures, pasted together without a full respect of the original context of the full text of scripture, and without a proper context of the time it was written. A number of the scriptures they use are actually talking about a spiritual “shaking”, a spiritual “taking away”, and a spiritual “heavenly condition” etc.

    For now for your reading I can recommend a book on the “Kingdom of God” you can find fully published on the Web at:
    http://churchofgodcarmichael.org/KingdomofGod/kofgframeset.html

    I hope in the future to actually devote a full post or more to this subject of the rapture, etc. When I do I will try to remember to also add a comment on this post that reference it. You can be sure you get it by subscribing to either this blog (by a number of means above: email, RSS or by WordPress) or to the comments on the blog.

  5. I really can see friend that you have thoroughly searched the scriptures but can you answer this? When Jesus said “come unto me all ye that labour and are heavy laiden and I will give you rest,” What is “REST” and how do you obtain it?

    • I’ll do my best to answer by the Bible, and by a personal experience of “rest” that I enjoy.

      The full expression was by Jesus and is quoted here:

      “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” ~ Matthew 11:28-30

      Just prior to this (in verse 24) Jesus had just got done explaining the great judgment that would rest upon those who had rejected him as their savior.

      “But I say unto you, That it shall be more tolerable for the land of Sodom in the day of judgment, than for thee.” ~ Matthew 11:24

      There is no rest to the soul until we have surrendered our sinful life completely and have cried out in mercy for our soul. The rest is the peace of mind and heart that can only come from a true assurance that there is nothing between Jesus and you. Your past sins are forgiven and you now love him so much that you only want to obey his commandments. This is true rest!

      This is why he said “Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.” Take the life of holiness and faithfulness to yourselves and you will find rest. But if sin still rests in the heart, there is no rest to the soul.

      “I create the fruit of the lips; Peace, peace to him that is far off, and to him that is near, saith the LORD; and I will heal him. But the wicked are like the troubled sea, when it cannot rest, whose waters cast up mire and dirt. There is no peace, saith my God, to the wicked.” ~ Isaiah 57:19-21

  6. How blessed you are for bringing the word of the Lord to the nations. I feel the life-giving breath of the Holy Spirit in your teachings. Sometimes, I am literally taken aback by the accuarcy of the interpretations and I have the inner witness confirming it.

    Blessings to you and may you be covered by the Blood of the Lamb.

    • Thank you Crystal for your encouraging comment. If it was not for the blood of the Lamb and for his mercy on my soul, I would have nothing to offer. May God bless you as you let his Holy Spirit lead you into a life of holiness and devotion to his purpose with your life. You’ll never be sorry for letting go of your own personal goals that he might lead and direct your life by his Holy Spirit.

      “For if ye live after the flesh, ye shall die: but if ye through the Spirit do mortify the deeds of the body, ye shall live. For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God. For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father. The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God” ~ Romans 8:13-16

  7. This is a really nice audio of an evangelist who puts a new spin on the idea of Hidden Manna. And yes there are Biblical texts to back up his sermon as well as common sense. For some reasons these days, people do not find that those two go together. Isaiah 1 : 18 “Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD…”

  8. Praise God for your commentary on the hidden manna! I haven’t recently even thought of this until this morning while driving to work. My mind was tied up on earthly chores I had to accomplish today when suddenly, without thought or volition, I said “hidden manna” out loud. This has NEVER happened to me before, and I instantly knew that it didn’t come from my distracted brain. I was not in prayer or even thinking on heavenly/spiritual things. Anyway, when I got to work I did a little google search and after reading Revelation 2:17 I found your site. It really hit me because I’m surrounded mostly by fake believers with very little true fellowship. I’ve been praying about the desert that I find myself in. I don’t know if this is the reason I was given this phrase or not, but it certainly hit me hard today. What an awesome experience! God bless you!
    MARANATHA!
    Watchman73

    • Dear watchman, yes when we are surrounded by mostly fake believers we will feel that we are in a desert place. God’s Word and Holy Spirit are the two faithful witnesses today to the truth. When people claim these witnesses, but yet are not obedient to them, then these same witnesses have power to cause a spiritual desert.

      “And I will give power unto my two witnesses, and they shall prophesy a thousand two hundred and threescore days, clothed in sackcloth. These are the two olive trees, and the two candlesticks standing before the God of the earth. And if any man will hurt them, fire proceedeth out of their mouth, and devoureth their enemies: and if any man will hurt them, he must in this manner be killed. These have power to shut heaven, that it rain not in the days of their prophecy” ~ Revelation 11:3-6

      This is because God does not want us to have to worship with mostly fake believers:

      “Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness? And what concord hath Christ with Belial? or what part hath he that believeth with an infidel? And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you. And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.” ~ 2 Corinthians 6:14-18

      This condition of fake Christians is ultimately called spiritual Babylon in the book of Revelation, and the command from God is to get away from them!

      “And I heard another voice from heaven, saying, Come out of her, my people, that ye be not partakers of her sins, and that ye receive not of her plagues. For her sins have reached unto heaven, and God hath remembered her iniquities.” ~ Revelation 18:4-5

  9. 1st Thessalonians chapter 2 tells that the rebellion comes first and the man of lawlessness will be revealed first…the son of destruction. Clear evidence of tribulation before the gathering together of the saints in the clouds. On a side note, the Bible clearly and definitely states repeatedly that we who are elect need to expect suffering. Its silly to think that the disciples suffered for the sake of Christ yet we as today’s disciples should not also suffer.

Leave a Reply

