Your Name – Is It Clothed in White?

“He that overcometh, the same shall be clothed in white raiment; and I will not blot out his name out of the book of life, but I will confess his name before my Father, and before his angels.” (Revelation 3:5)

Jesus said while still on earth:

“Whosoever therefore shall confess me before men, him will I confess also before my Father which is in heaven. But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.” (Matthew 10:32-33)

But to confess him before men means more than professing a name before people. Jesus was specifically speaking of living the true and faithful life before the very closest to you; even when they are very religious, self-righteous, and very offended by your Christian sincerity and faithfulness. A House, A HomeThis is why Jesus immediately after this statement made it clear that there was a serious need to “overcome” right at home, and right amongst your closest loved ones:

“Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword. For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law. And a man’s foes shall be they of his own household. He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.” (Matthew 10:34-38)

We must overcome all: sin, false doctrine, false churches, and our own loved ones that are not “faithful and true” to Jesus (although they may be very religious.) Then, and only then, will we be clothed in white and be accepted of Jesus:

“After this I beheld, and, lo, a great multitude, which no man could number, of all nations, and kindreds, and people, and tongues, stood before the throne, and before the Lamb, clothed with white robes, and palms in their hands;… …And one of the elders answered, saying unto me, What are these which are arrayed in white robes? and whence came they? And I said unto him, Sir, thou knowest. And he said to me, These are they which came out of great tribulation, and have washed their robes, and made them white in the blood of the Lamb”. (Revelation 7:9 and 11-14)

Jesus has the names of the truly saved on his roll in heaven. Having your name on a Church membership roll down here on earth will not do you any good. The one in heaven is the only one that matters. Turning your back fully on sin and being saved is how your name gets there, and it is sin, including the sin of unfaithful religion, that will “blot” your “name out of the book of life.” This has always been true, even all the way back in the Old Testament:

“And the LORD said unto Moses, Whosoever hath sinned against me, him will I blot out of my book.” (Exodus 32:33)

Having your name written in heaven matters more than anything else:

“Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you. Notwithstanding in this rejoice not, that the spirits are subject unto you; but rather rejoice, because your names are written in heaven.” (Luke 10:19-20)

Again, in Revelation 3 and verse 5 he emphasis the need to be clothed in garments that are not spotted: “He that overcometh, the same shall be clothed in white raiment; and I will not blot out his name out of the book of life, but I will confess his name before my Father, and before his angels.” Like the five virgins who kept their lamps burning, so those who keep their garments clean and white, will also be allowed through the door to the wedding feast of the bride of Christ:

“Let us be glad and rejoice, and give honour to him: for the marriage of the Lamb is come, and his wife hath made herself ready. And to her was granted that she should be arrayed in fine linen, clean and white: for the fine linen is the righteousness of saints. And he saith unto me, Write, Blessed are they which are called unto the marriage supper of the Lamb. And he saith unto me, These are the true sayings of God.” (Revelation 19:7-9)

Where are you today? Is your heart pure before the Lord? Are you spiritually clothed in white raiment? Is your name in the Lamb’s book of life?

2 responses to “Your Name – Is It Clothed in White?

  1. I have spent years loving the Lord and attempting to increase my faith. I grew up in a Church that did not preach the “born again” principal. I have read a lot about it, but am afraid I do not totally understand it totally.

    I believe Jesus Christ died for the sins of all mankind, and that he will forgive all sins if asked todo so. I know this leads to Salvation, but do not understand the principals. Does one have to be re-baptised????? and what other things, other than doing the best to live a Christ like life are necessary. Could you please advise me what I need to do to assure my Salvation????? I have asked Jesus to accept me, forgive my sins, grow in faith, and assure me my Salvation.

    What overt acts are necessary to achieve the promise of Salvation? Please help me understand this process, and save me and dedicate my life to the principals of a truly “born again” Christian.

    Thankyou for any guidance you are able to give me, and assist me toward my Salvation…

    Love in Christ

  2. Dear Ann, there is no “overt acts to achieve salvation” necessary, but rather the scripture teaches us: “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.” (Psalms 51:17)

    Jesus Christ came to save the humble and contrite ones; the ones who are sick of sin and that want nothing between them and God. It is sin that separates us from God, and through full repentance (asking forgiveness and turning completely away from all sin we know) we can be reconciled, or brought back to God in a holy and true relationship. The problem is that there are few people, and few churches that are seeking God sincerely today.

    Ann, we have many good Bible based resources that we have also published on our Web site at http://www.churchofgodcarmichael.org/ including: books, tracts, blog posts from our Bible study classes, and the sound files from our Sunday morning messages. I am certain you will find much good help from them.

Leave a Reply

