It Takes a Humble Man to Minister Rightly

“…and the third beast (living creature) had a face as a man…” ~ Revelation 4:7

Male head silhouetteOf course the ministry is human. Subject to the frailties and weaknesses of human strength and understanding. Yet they are required to maintain the integrity of the faithfulness in their heart and soul in every way.

“For this cause left I thee in Crete, that thou shouldest set in order the things that are wanting, and ordain elders in every city, as I had appointed thee: If any be blameless, the husband of one wife, having faithful children not accused of riot or unruly. For a bishop must be blameless, as the steward of God; not selfwilled, not soon angry, not given to wine, no striker, not given to filthy lucre; But a lover of hospitality, a lover of good men, sober, just, holy, temperate; Holding fast the faithful word as he hath been taught, that he may be able by sound doctrine both to exhort and to convince the gainsayers.” ~ Titus 1:5-9

But the warning to ministers is that they still have the potential of falling to the weaknesses of man. Therefore they must exercise self-control and be watchful.

“Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain. And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible. I therefore so run, not as uncertainly; so fight I, not as one that beateth the air: But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway.” ~ 1 Corinthians 9:24-27

“Wherefore gird up the loins of your mind, be sober, and hope to the end for the grace that is to be brought unto you at the revelation of Jesus Christ; As obedient children, not fashioning yourselves according to the former lusts in your ignorance: But as he which hath called you is holy, so be ye holy in all manner of conversation; Because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy. And if ye call on the Father, who without respect of persons judgeth according to every man’s work, pass the time of your sojourning here in fear” ~ 1 Peter 1:13-17

Wherefore, because of this inherent weakness that exists with man, he must stay humbly reliant upon God for success. Without staying close to God, a minister will fail!

“Thus saith the LORD; Cursed be the man that trusteth in man, and maketh flesh his arm, and whose heart departeth from the LORD. For he shall be like the heath in the desert, and shall not see when good cometh; but shall inhabit the parched places in the wilderness, in a salt land and not inhabited.

Blessed is the man that trusteth in the LORD, and whose hope the LORD is. For he shall be as a tree planted by the waters, and that spreadeth out her roots by the river, and shall not see when heat cometh, but her leaf shall be green; and shall not be careful in the year of drought, neither shall cease from yielding fruit.

The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it? I the LORD search the heart, I try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit of his doings.” ~ Jeremiah 17:5-10

Do you have a minister who stays humbly before the throne of grace for their help? One who does not give into the weakness of the flesh?

2 responses to “It Takes a Humble Man to Minister Rightly

  1. The message is accurate. Anyone that has sinned does fall short of the glory of God. I do have so much integrity to openly admit this though. Through Jesus’ forgiveness and turning from my sinful nature, I pray in my heart and soul that I’m forgiven. Since my 2nd testimony until now, I have learned through more trials in discipline and have much growth in my faith and relationship with Jesus Christ. My husbands mother pointed me to the scriptures, to read the bible from Genesis through Revelation in 2011. I have read the bible from cover to cover. I do charity work, fast, pray, and I now witness more on this testimony. I am extremely aware of my thoughts, words and actions, very careful to follow the Word of God to the best of my ability with the Holy Spirits help. Even though I know that good deeds won’t get me into heaven, I realize that they are good works to guide lost souls through love, so that they meaning people may come to know Jesus also.

    Which brings me to the 1st testimony that I had, I have witnessed to people about this one. I come from a poor family. Being raised by a single mother with 5 kids we struggled a lot. I worked hard and earned everything I ever had in life for the most part. It builds character to be in my shoes.
    I was ran over by a drunk driver while my brother was walking me home from kindergarten class. My brother couldn’t pull me back in time. (Of course, I forgive the drunk driver also.)
    I was 6 years old and it was 3 days after my birthday.
    I was walking across the street and the next thing I knew was fade to black and instantly I was in heaven! I felt so much love and peace there and knew that my soul was home. I saw a man with what looked like a rainbow colored face! I begged him to stay there and he said that it wasn’t my time to be there and to go back. When I opened my eyes, I was in a hospital and I could feel the pain in my body from the accident. I saw my mother sitting to my right side. I sprung up and with a huge smile on my face said “Mommy, mommy, I just saw the face of God and he was a rainbow of colors, and I didn’t want to come back but he made me come back!” I hugged her very tightly. Nurses and doctors were standing around and I was to learn later that I had died after having flat lined on the vitals monitor for 6 seconds and was brought back to life with defibrillators. One of the nurses told her church group and the next thing that I knew every church group in town was praying over the little girl that met God.

    God and Jesus gave 2 very real, very true extraordinary testimonies to me being a very ordinary person. I am very humble and serve Jesus Christ with humility. I am just a very normal person and I think this kind of thing happens to people of all walks of life.

    My thoughts are that God and Jesus want for me to witness to people regarding my testimonies so even in their sinful nature with a broken soul, they can turn from their sinful ways and come to know and love Jesus. I know in my heart that I am obligated to share this and have a job to do.

    The thing I’m working on now, being in Germany, and having only on post military churches to go to, because I don’t know the German language that well, is searching for a church to attend with my husband and son that shares the true Gospel in their sermons and such. I need to find a church that I can tithe 10% or more of my money to give back.

    What are your thoughts?

    What are your thoughts

  2. Lisa, you have an amazing testimony of heaven as a child, and of turning your heart to the Lord! May God bless you to continue in obedience to the truth of the Gospel that God has already shown you. I feel for you in your situation of not feeling you have a place to fellowship and worship where you can understand and sense the true Gospel. I have never been to Germany myself and don’t know of a place there that I could recommend (but that does not mean that there is not one, I just don’t know where it is.) The language barrier could still be a problem even if you knew of one. I can recommend a source on the Web where they publish weekly a solid gospel message you can download and listen to. It is at the congregation where I attend. Here is the link to where an audio of the messages are posted weekly, usually within a day of the delivery. http://churchofgodcarmichael.org/gospel-media/

    May the Lord bless you as you endeavor to closely follow him!

Leave a Reply

