Roadmap of Revelation

There is a lot to “roadmap” in Revelation, so this is just another high-level summary effort to help us get a better view of the bigger picture.

First, here is one diagram which lays out the entire Revelation message in a high-level roadmap of the progression of the message as you read through the book: Revelation Overview Diagram

Historical Viewpoint of Gospel Day Through Revelation Roadmap:

Secondly, here is a different high-level diagram that displays some of the symbols from Daniel, the Old Testament, and the Revelation, all in a time-progression. Although the symbols of Revelation represent spiritual conditions at any time in history, this chart-diagram places them in a more historical time sequence. The intention is to tell the story of the Gospel Day, by describing when these types of spirits were most prevalent in resisting Jesus Christ, his gospel, and the true people of God. (Click on the image to get a more full size version of the image.)

Historical Depiction of the Revelation

Historical Depiction of the Revelation

The historical narrative of the “Gospel Day” (from when Jesus first was on earth, until the end) within Revelation is told seven times, from seven different perspectives. For Revelation is a book of many “sevens”:

  1. From the viewpoint of “where the church was at spiritually” throughout history – the seven churches of Asia (chapters 2 & 3)
  2. From the viewpoint of that which only those washed by the blood of the Lamb can see – the opening of the seven seals (chapters 6 – 8)
  3. From the viewpoint of a ministry anointed to warn God’s people and call them to gather together as one for battle – the seven angels sounding their trumpets (chapters 8 – 11)
  4. From the viewpoint of measuring the temple of God, the altar, and them that worship there – the battle of the two witnesses (the Word and the Spirit) against the deceptions of Satan (chapter 11)
  5. From the viewpoint of the battle between the church and the beasts (chapters 12 & 13)
  6. From the viewpoint of placing final judgement upon the unfaithful harlot, Babylon, and her murderous deception throughout history (chapter 17)
  7. From the viewpoint of God’s throne, and to those who now have been freed from the deception of Babylon and the beast – the true history of the Gospel day! It was just a battle between Satan and God’s people, period. (chapter 20)

“The Revelation of Jesus Christ” blog roadmap:

Finally, here is a more sequential (chapter by chapter) “bullet point” roadmap of the Revelation. It contains links to posts on this blog that explain further: and from that perspective, it also is a kind of “article writing roadmap” for this blog because, as more gets written, more will be linked. Consequently, this one below is still very much a work in progress.

Jesus is fully revealed to John (chapter 1)

  • Who the Revelation message is addressed to
  • What the Revelation message gives record of
  • Message is to be revealed to the 7 churches by the 7 Spirits of God
  • Jesus is revealed as faithful witness
  • Jesus comes to us in the clouds
  • John hears the great gospel trumpet
  • Jesus is revealed to John
  • John is appointed to deliver the message to the seven churches

Jesus lets the seven churches know where they are at (chapters 2 & 3)

  1. Ephesus
  2. Smyrna
  3. Pergamos
  4. Thyatira
  5. Sardis
  6. Philadelphia
  7. Laodicea

In the Spirit, John worships around the throne of God (chapters 4)

  • The 24 elders around the throne
  • The seven lamps which are the seven Spirits of God
  • The four living creatures

The Lamb of God is revealed in the throne of God (chapter 5)

  • No one can remove the seals, except the Lamb of God
  • The Lamb has seven eyes which are the seven Spirits of God
  • An innumerable heavenly host is worshiping God and the Lamb

The seven seals are opened by the Lamb of God, Jesus Christ (chapters 6 – 8)

  1. First Seal Opened
  2. Second Seal Opened
  3. Third Seal Opened
  4. Fourth Seal Opened
  5. Fifth Seal Opened
  6. Sixth Seal Opened
  7. Seventh Seal Opened

Each of the seven trumpet angels sound their trumpet (chapters 8 – 11)

  1. First Trumpet Angel Sounds
  2. Second Trumpet Angel Sounds
  3. Third Trumpet Angel Sounds
  4. Fourth Trumpet Angel Sounds
  5. Fifth Trumpet Angel Sounds
  6. Sixth Trumpet Angel Sounds
  7. Seventh Trumpet Angel Sounds

The beasts are exposed along with the mark of the beast (chapters 12 – 13)

God’s true people are identified and prepared to pour out the vials of God’s wrath (chapters 14 – 15)

The seven vials of the wrath of God are poured out (chapter 16)

  1. First vial is poured out
  2. Second vial is poured out
  3. Third vial is poured out
  4. Fourth vial is poured out
  5. Fifth vial is poured out
  6. Sixth vial is poured out
  7. Seventh vial is poured out

Babylon is fully exposed (chapter 17)

Babylon is completely destroyed (chapter 18)

Jesus is crowned King of kings and Lord of lords and the beast and the false prophet are cast into hell (chapter 19)

Devil’s deceitful work throughout gospel day is fully exposed and he is cast into hell and the final judgement throne is set (chapter 20)

The true bride of Christ, the heavenly Jerusalem is revealed (chapter 21)

The heavenly throne of God is revealed and Jesus Christ gives us his final exhortation and warnings (chapter 22)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.